

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

DRAFT MEETING MINUTES

Monday, April 15, 2024 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Virtual via Microsoft Teams

I. Call to Order

Chair Cliff Otto called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

II. Roll Call

Kristen Wharton called the roll: Chair Cliff Otto, Vice Chair Beth Kigel, Trustee Dorian Abbot, Trustee Melia Rodriguez, Trustee Mark Bostick, Trustee Lyn Stanfield, Trustee Ajeet Kaushik, Trustee Laine Powell, Trustee David Williams, Trustee Jesse Panuccio, Trust Patrick Hagen, Trustee Sidney Theis, and Trustee Ilya Shapiro were present (Quorum).

Trustees not present: N/A

Staff present: David Fugett, Melaine Schmiz, Sherri Pavlik, and Kristen Wharton were present.

III. Public Comment

There was one request received for public comment. Corporate Secretary Kristen Wharton read the public comment into the record.

IV. Candidate Vetting Reports

Vice President and General Counsel David Fugett provided reports on each of the following:

- A. Social Media Vetting. Fugett reported that besides the social media and public records vetting conducted by the Search Committee prior to initial interviews, additional vetting including preliminary criminal, financial, education, and professional background checks of each of the five final candidates was conducted. There was no negative information found in the additional vetting process.
- B. Reference Checks. Each candidate was asked to provide three professional references. Fugett stated that each candidate provided more than the required three. He contacted a total of 28 references across the five candidates, and each reference provided an outstanding recommendation for their respective candidate.
- C. Academic Integrity Review. Fugett stated that a small staff working group and Trustee David Williams reviewed publications from each candidate's list of publications provided on their CVs. Fugett outlined the review process, then affirmed that of the publications reviewed, none presented with similarity issues of concern.
- D. Campus Community Surveys. Fugett invited trustees to ask questions about the Campus Community Survey report which they received in their meeting materials. Trustee Ilya

Shapiro asked if students and employees met with the candidates together or separately. Fugett responded that students met with each candidate separately from staff and faculty. He also reviewed the survey process and read the average score for each candidate in alphabetical order of the candidates' last name.

V. <u>Discussion of Presidential Finalists and Selection of the next President of Florida Polytechnic University</u>

Chair Otto began this section of the meeting by thanking Vice Chair Beth Kigel for her leadership of the Presidential Search Committee. He also thanked the members of the Search Committee for their work in this process.

Chair Otto outlined the discussion process which provided each trustee with the opportunity to share their preference of candidate to be the next president of Florida Poly and state any supporting comments for that candidate. Chair Otto strongly noted that this was not an official vote but was solely intended to promote discussion. Sherri Pavlik, Paralegal and Executive Assistant to the General Counsel, shared a spreadsheet onscreen which she used to keep track of trustees' preferred candidates. Chair Otto also stated he would not entertain any motions until every trustee had an opportunity to state their preference and provide their supporting comments.

One by one, trustees stated their candidate preference and shared specific reasons why they supported their candidate of choice. After all 13 trustees gave their statements, **Vice Chair Beth Kigel motioned to select Dr. G. Devin Stephenson as the next president of Florida Polytechnic University. Trustee Ilya Shapiro seconded the motion.** A robust discussion then occurred among the trustees. Varying views were shared and considered, and once no further comments were forthcoming, Chair Otto directed David Fugett to conduct a roll call vote for the motion on the floor. Trustees voted as follows:

Chair Cliff Otto: Yes Vice Chair Beth Kigel: Yes Trustee Dorian Abbot: Yes Trustee Mark Bostick: No Trustee Patrick Hagen: Yes Trustee Ajeet Kaushik: No Trustee Jesse Panuccio: Yes Trustee Laine Powell: No Trustee Melia Rodriguez: No Trustee Ilya Shapiro: Yes Trustee Lyn Stanfield: No Trustee Sidney Theis: Yes Trustee David Williams: No

The motion to select Dr. G. Devin Stephenson as the next president of Florida Polytechnic University passed by a vote of 7 to 6.

VI. Contract Process

Chair Otto noted that the Board of Trustees had already approved a total compensation range for the new president. He charged the General Counsel with the responsibility of negotiating a contract with the president-elect that will fall within that range. If a mutually agreeable contract could be reached, he stated it would come before the Board for approval at its virtual meeting on Thursday, April 25. If more time is needed, a special meeting of the Board could be called at a later date.

VII. <u>Closing Remarks and Adjournment</u>

Chair Otto announced that Vice Chair Kigel will lead a presidential transition team to welcome and support the new president and ensure a smooth transference of information and knowledge. He also stated that Kristen Wharton, Corporate Secretary, will assist as the team's lead staff member and that Vice Chair Kigel will add additional team members in the near future.

With no further business to discuss the meeting adjourned at 4:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Kristen J. Wharton Corporate Secretary