2024 Ablaze Winners

2024 Ablaze Award Winners


The university’s employee awards program was created in 2018 to acknowledge and celebrate the efforts of the university’s faculty and staff in a variety of areas including teaching, research, and service to others.

The 2024 award winners were announced Thursday, April 25 in the Barnett Applied Research Center.


Award Recipients

Phoenix Spirit Award
Jon Pawlecki
Associate Vice Provost, Student Success

Exemplary Service to Others Award
Michele Rush
Executive Assistant to the President

Admissions Department

Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Navindra Wijeyeratne
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Award for Excellence in Research
Dr. Patrick Zhang
Director, Research (Mining & Beneficiation) at FIPR

Pinnacle Award
Nicole Tardiff
Director, Sponsored Programs